Library Guide for Environmental Science: Books

Environmental Science: A Global Concern, Twelfth Edition, is a comprehensive presentation of environmental science for non-science majors which emphasizes critical thinking, environmental responsibility, and global awareness. This book is intended for use in a one or two-semester course in environmental science, human ecology, or environmental studies at the college or advanced placement high school level. Cunningham and Cunningham have updated much of the data in the 12th edition; updated data on hunger and obesity, waste production, C02 emissions, and the effects of the 2010 oil spill are just a few examples.

This text focuses on helping non-science majors develop an understanding of how geology and humanity interact. Ed Keller―the author who first defined the environmental geology curriculum―focuses on five fundamental concepts of environmental geology: Human Population Growth, Sustainability, Earth as a System, Hazardous Earth Processes, and Scientific Knowledge and Values. These concepts are introduced at the outset of the text, integrated throughout the text, and revisited at the end of each chapter.

Elements of Ecology, Ninth Edition continues to explain ecological processes clearly and concisely, with a greater emphasis on the relevance of ecology to everyday life and the human impact on ecosystems. This dramatically revised edition discusses issues of human ecology throughout the text and provides a greater variety of opportunities for students to learn, practice, and develop quantitative and analytical skills. Current research examples and other content updates are supported by more than 200 redesigned, full-color illustrations, graphs, and tables.

Biology, 12th Edition is the epitome of Sylvia Mader's expertise. Its concise, precise writing-style employs lucid language to present the material as succinctly as possible, enabling students-even non-majors-to master the foundational concepts before coming to class. "Before You Begin", "Following the Themes", and "Thematic Feature Readings" piece together the three major themes of the text-evolution, nature of science, and biological systems. Students are consistently engaged in these themes, revealing the interconnectedness of the major topics in biology.

The author team of Prescott's Microbiology continues the tradition of past editions by providing a balanced, comprehensive introduction to all major areas of microbiology. This balance makes Microbiology appropriate for microbiology majors and mixed majors courses. The authors have introduced a number of pedagogical elements designed to facilitate student learning. They also remain focused on readability, artwork, and the integration of several key themes (including evolution, ecology and diversity) throughout the text, making an already superior text even better.

For introductory courses in Environmental Technology, Water Supply and Pollution Control, Environmental Quality Control, Environmental and Sanitary Design, Water and Wastewater Technology, and other undergraduate courses in the departments of Civil/Environmental Engineering. An easy-to-read, basic yet comprehensive text on a wide range of environmental subjects, this book focuses on fundamental concepts and practical applications, using only basic level (pre-calculus) mathematics where applicable, to help the student understand the interdisciplinary field of environmental technology. It provides an overview of the elements of public health, ecology, geology, and soils―with a focus on water and wastewater, solid and hazardous waste, and air and noise pollution control. Review material is included for those students with little or no background in the subjects of hydraulics, chemistry, biology, or geology, so that they can still comprehend and use this text.

"Fundamentals of Prescott's Microbiology" provides a balanced, comprehensive introduction to all major areas of microbiology. Because of this balance, "Fundamentals of Prescott's Microbiology" is appropriate for microbiology majors and mixed majors courses. The new authors have focused on readability, artwork, and the integration of several key themes (including evolution, ecology and diversity) throughout the text, making an already superior text even better.

This comprehensive text describes the ecological principles, policies, and practices required to create a sustainable future. It emphasizes practical, cost-effective, sustainable solutions to these problems that make sense from social, economic, and environmental perspectives.

New techniques, improved understanding and changes in regulations relating to environmental analysis means that students, technicians and lecturers alike need an up-to-date guide to practical environmental analysis. This unique book provides detailed instructions for practical experiments in environmental analysis. The comprehensive coverage includes the chemical analysis of important pollutants in air, water, soil and plant tissue, and the experiments generally require only basic laboratory equipment and instrumentation. The content is supported by theoretical material explaining, amongst other concepts, the principles behind each method and the importance of various pollutants.

Introduction to Geographic Information Systems, 8th edition is designed to provide students in a first or second GIS course with a solid foundation in both GIS concepts and the use of GIS. Introduction to GIS strikes a careful balance between GIS concepts and hands-on applications. The main portion of the chapter presents GIS terms and concepts and helps students learn how each one fits into a complete GIS system. At the end of each chapter, an application section with 2-7 tasks presents students with actual GIS exercises and the necessary data to solve the problem.

This book provides a comprehensive introduction to the history and science of major air pollution issues. It begins with an introduction to the basic atmospheric chemistry and the history of discovery of chemicals in the atmosphere, and then moves on to a discussion of the evolution of the earth's atmosphere, and the structure and composition of the present-day atmosphere. It also offers a comprehensive and accessible discussion of the five major atmospheric pollution topics: urban outdoor air pollution, indoor air pollution, acid deposition, stratospheric ozone reduction, and global climate change.

"Reclamation of Contaminated Land is suitable for 2nd, 3rd and 4th year undergraduates and MSc. students in Environmental Science, Environmental Technology, Environmental Management, Geography, Geology, Estate and Land Management. It is also key reading for undergraduates and MSc. students in Chemical Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering and Environmental Chemistry, as well as professional planners and developers, and local authorities

The Twenty-First Edition has continued the trend to revise methods as issues are identified and contains further refined quality assurance requirements in a number of Parts [sic] and new data on precision and bias. New methods have been added in Parts 2000, 4000, 5000, 6000, 7000, 8000, and 9000, and numerous methods have been revised. Details of these changes appear on the reverse of the title page for each part